Federal Agencies

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) 
(An agency within the U.S. Department of Labor)
Highlights include:

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
The EEOC has responsibility for enforcement of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964; the Equal Pay Act of 1963 (EPA); the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA); Title I and Title V of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA); Sections 501 and 505 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973; and the Civil Rights Act of 1991. Highlights include hot news topics, statistics, information for employees and employers regarding laws, filing a claim, and mediation.

Federal Mediation and Concilation Service (FMCS)
The primary responsibility  of the FMCS is to promote sound and stable labor relations through a variety of mediation and conflict resolution services.

Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Highlights include tax stats, employment forms and publications available for download, COBRA information, IRS Newsstand and taxpayer help and education.

Occupational, Health & Safety Administration (OSHA)
Highlights include a library of data and manuals, a newsroom, statistics, laws and regulations and events.

Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP)
OFCCP administers and enforces three legal authorities that require equal employment opportunity: Executive Order 11246, as amended; Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended; and the Vietnam Era Veterans' Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974, as amended, 38 U.S.C. 4212.

Social Security Administration (SSA)
Highlights include verification of social security numbers for new hires, social security number allocations by state, listing of the social security numbers currently being issued, links to forms, publications, and wage reporting information.

U.S. Department of Labor (DOL)
Information on FMLA, FLSA, the WARN Act, Jury Duty, exempt and non exempt classifications, and more. Also check out the DOL's elaws Advisors to aid employers and employees in understanding the various employment laws and regulations that it enforces.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
(Formerly U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS))  
The USCIS oversees The Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 requiring I-9 forms be completed for all employees.  General information on immigration issues

Share this page: